Need encouragement....

Nurse 26

Reaction score
Hey ladies! bear with me as i'm new to all this.

Have been Breastfeeding my little one, milk just came in yesterday properly but one of my nipples is so painful now, in all the books it says its because of poor latching but he latches really well, all the midwives keep telling me hes doing it right and it feels like this.

Does this painful period pass? any tips? (i have the nipple cream and it helps) hes also feeding LOADS through the night and its really draining, when will this stop? or get better? all he wants to do all night is feed but he feeds and settles really well during the day.

Feeling a bit fed up as its so difficult, found day 2 and before the milk came in really stressful.
No given him any top ups or anything as he hardly lost any of his birth weight and midwife says hes doing great.

Thanks ladies!

xx

Your obviously doing really well im not the best person to be giving advice but it does pass and it does get easier. Have you got some cream for your nipple, it will help. Your doing great x

Sent from my E15i using Tapatalk

Thanks hun, i have the cream and it does help, i'm just finding my left one so painful. to be honest ive found breatfeeding much harder than labour.

First of all, congrats, welcome and don't give up!

Day 5 was the worst for me, the pain passes in a couple of days. I was really sore from cracked and bleeding nipples and Henry just wanted to feed constantly. The constant feeding is just Harry building up ur milk supply.

The painful period does pass, Henry only feeds now (usually but not tonight!) twice during the night after being a hungry baby at night. I just make sure he has a big feed at about 10, then he usually sleep until 1-2am. He is then usually up again between 5-6am.