NAUSEA. WHAT CAN I TAKE?

Gemma & Jake

Reaction score
Hi just wandering if anyone has been given anything by their doctor to help with nausea in pregnancy. I have had really bad nausea all day and night for over a week now and it is really getting to me. I am meant to be starting work again in a couple of days after annual leave and am really worried as I work in a hospital and so will probably come in to contact with some not very pleasant smells which will probably cause me to be sick. I have tried ginger biscuits and sea bands which did not help at all so I was hoping to get some medication to help. I have heard that vitamin B6 can help so has anyone been given this to take or any other sickness pills.

I was advised to take 25g B6 with B1 (not surehow much B1, perhaps you could ring your doc) 3 x a day. I think it helped a bit. I was also advised to take anti-histamine, the ones that make you drowsy as these can help calm your stomache, they really helped my night time and early morning sickness but I couldn't take them in the day because they made me tired. You could try accupuncture, I have heard this has worked for some women. I feel so bad for you because I have been sick since about week six, I think its calming down now but that really doesn't help when you are in full flow does it? I think the doctors in the Uk may be able to help you more. I really hope it passes you soon.

Hi Gemz,

I found that eating little and often was the only thing that really worked for me. I had to eat something, even if it was just one slice of toast or a few biscuits, every couple of hours, or i'd feel really sick. Tomato soup used to make me vom!! not sure why :?

Found this on Netdoctor which might help.

http://www.netdoctor.co.uk/health_advic ... nausea.htm

Hope you feel better soon.

Take Care.

Nicki.x

Hi gemz