meal ideas please!!!

Suzie and Faith

Reaction score
I'm finally getting this cooking thing! Lol.

So far I've made:
sausage casserole
kidney bean tacos
pasta bake (with cheese, bacon, veg)
bakewell tart
bread and butter pudding
garlic bread

and tonight we're having toad in the hole with mash and veg (hoping it'll work!)

I'm still a novice - in the end i want to have a long list of meals that are healthy and normal that i can cook for us without the use of too many packets!

any ideas/recipes?????

Tonight we're having Roast Butternut Squash Risotto. Its dead easy.

Cut the squash into chunks, discard the seeds & roast the butternut in the oven with a drizzle of olive oil (leave skin on the squash, as its really hard to peel but goes lovely and soft once roasted then you can eat it)

Make the risotto. I use half a pack of rice for 2 people (but we are greedy).
Chop an onion and cook in a little oil, add 1 clove of crushed garlic and cook till onion translucent.
Add the rice (I use arborio or carnorli rice, its specifically for risotto) ensuring all grains are coated in the oil from the pan.
Add 1 glass of white wine and cook till absorbed (don't forget to stir so the rice doesn't stick)
Make up some stock probably about a litre, I use chicken bovril its really low in fat.
Add 1 ladle of stock at a time and stir the stock till it has been absorbed, then add another.
Do this for about 15 minutes then check the rice to see if its cooked it should be still a little firm in the middle and not too soft.
If its ready stir in the squash, add seasoning
Take off the heat and stir in grated parmesan (I like a lot about 56g) this makes it really creamy.