Is this discrimination? Need advice

jojo_2012

Reaction score
I work as a registered nurse, and our uniform consists of a blue tunic and navy trousers, or a blue dress with a navy belt.

Matron is very strict with what we wear, must have hair off the collar, bare below the elbow, no piercings etc
My collegue had a baby in May, and her maternity uniform was a blue tunic with a buckle behind the back. Reasonably similar.

Now I ordered my maternity uniform 14 weeks ago to give them good time to order it. Only to be told that they've changed the maternity uniform to just an oversized white dress.

Not an adjustable tunic or even an adjustable dress, and not even blue! People who wear white include student nurses and the people who take blood. Can you imagine how that will look, it will be a white sack!!

Patients will be asking me where the nurse is, one collegue already told me I'll look like a baker (lol). I've been really upset about it, because I guarantee I'll be rediculed. I work with a lot of men, quite senior male surgeons as will in a clinic environment.

I emailed the deputy director of nursing and she said it was "cost saving not discrimination".

But imagine if they made all the black nurses or all the disabled nurses wear a different colour??

Any opinions and any idea what I should do about it.

They may say it's cost cutting - and it may save money but I think it sounds like discrimination. They r penalising u for being pg but makin u wear a large white tunic that doesn't fall in line with the rest of ur department.

Not entirely sure what u can do about it but it doesn't sound fair to me.

Is there anyone who has a maternity uniform that they have used u can have!
I was given mine by a colleague who recently had a baby.

can you dye it navy and have a belt or some kind of tie thingy to cinch it in at the waist so it has some shape?