I caused my own miscarriage

Kitta

Reaction score
About two years ago, my IUD rejected (I'd had it in long after it was due to be changed for financial difficulties). I was sexually active, and we were toying with the idea of taking this as a sign that maybe it was time to start on trying, but evenually decided that I needed to have a new IUD put in and wait til I finished my second degree before trying. The doctor did the pregnancy test before placing, but it must have been too soon. The IUD was placed, and I was heartbroken after coming so close to being able to have one but I was coping with it telling myself that in two years I'd finish my degree and I'd get my chance.

About a week after the placement, I was having a rough time. The last time, there was minimal pain and I stopped bleeding within a couple of days. This time it was different. Then it happened. Something ... came out. I was scared but I didn't want to believe what I was seeing. I took it in to my doc in a sample cup I'd swiped from work (I know that's shady, but I was a little at my wits end and it was just stock supply, not exactly expensive equipment). It was confirmed that I had in fact been pregnant and lost the baby because I had the IUD put in.

I just ... I had some mood/behavior issues but eventually thought I was getting over it. I still feel a pain so heavy it feels physical when I see things like baby supplies or baby announcements but I thought it was just because I wanted one so bad. Now I've finally started thinking about it again, and the problem is ... I feel like I killed my baby. It's the truth, it's exactly what happened even though I didn't know at the time it's just ... I can't get over it - the guilt, the shame. Now that we've just decided it's time to try to have one I have been an emotional roller coaster that's been exhausting not just to me but my loved ones.

I just needed to get it out.