How long after O is your temp rise?

CupcakeMummy

Reaction score
I'm pretty certain I O'd yesterday - pain stopped, negative OPK, EWCM in morning but pretty much gone by bedtime.

It's my first month temping so was hoping for a rise this morning - nothing. :-(

Can it take over 24 hours to rise?

Thinking maybe I O'd yesterday morning rather than overnight like I assumed. Xx

Hiya hon, I'm new to temping too, but have this book called 'Taking Charge of your fertility' and there are a number of different ways the temperature can rise after ov. Can't explain them all here as would take too long, but I'll give you the names and you can google them:

Temperature dip before rise
Stair step pattern of temperature rise
Slow rise pattern (maybe you have this??)
Fall Back pattern

Also, just so you're aware, the book talks about the fact that some woman may not have a thermal shift but that doesn't mean they haven't ov'd and that some temperature rises aren't obvious, so I guess everyone is different...

I'm just about to ov myself, so I'll let you know if/when I get my shift soon and I'd be curious to know about yours too...

Hope this has helped a bit anyway :) xx

Thanks CeeBee :) that really helpful.

Look forward to hearing how you get on. Fx I have a rise tomorrow.

My boobs normally start hurting a couple of days after ov so I know the progesterone is there. Maybe mine just takes a while to kick in - I hope that's not a bad thing!!!

This is my second month charting and I am still confused :) I didn't have a big dip this month before my temp rise but today my temp has dropped to cover line :/ will see if it climbs again tomorrow as I am only 5 dpo.

Good luck with your charting :)

Thanks CeeBee :) that really helpful.

Look forward to hearing how you get on. Fx I have a rise tomorrow.

My boobs normally start hurting a couple of days after ov so I know the progesterone is there. Maybe mine just takes a while to kick in - I hope that's not a bad thing!!!