Grumpy grumpy grumpy

mayday

Reaction score
Hello from grumpyland! I found out a week ago I am pregnant. It shouldn't really have come as a big surprise given that OH and I agreed to start trying and drew up a spreadsheet of 'likely' days. It seems, however, OH and I are super-fertile, and the 6-8 months of trying most websites lead you to believe were actually 6-8 minutes in our case, much to the distress of OH! I am what will probably be referred to by health care professionals as a 'mature mother,' which means I'm not going to tell you how old I am, but a quick scan round this forum reveals I'm older than most of you.

I'm really rather looking forward to having a mini-me, but the current state of affairs has REALLY put the kibosh on life as we know it. And my current lifestyle means keeping anything of this matter at all is nigh on impossible. To start with - I'm an airline pilot. Yes, you read that right. And have you ever seen a pregnant pilot? No, neither have I. So I'm grounded, and tying to explain to people that I've just been having a few days off when they ask me where I've been this week is not too hard at the moment, but will get harder and harder the longer it goes on. Work would like to put me down on the roster sheets as MD (maternity duties) but I have managed to pursuade them to go with GD (ground duties) so all my 3000+ colleagues don't know I'm pregnant before my mum does. Then there's the small matter of what I'm going to do for the next 8 months. Work would like me to go into the office 5 days a week, 9-5. NO WAY! When I bought a house an hour and a half away from work I was planning on driving in once a week, not every day. And office work - please! I know lots of people love it, but I'm not one of them. I just like tootling along in my aeroplane, watching the clouds go by. So I'm lying low at the moment and hoping they'll forget about me (not likely) or find me the most exciting training manual rewrite project I can do from the comfort of m