Experiencing the first trimester during Covid 19

CherryDoodle

Reaction score
This is my first pregnancy and we found out last week. I am a primary teacher and have been working with key worker children/ vulnerable children. The current guidance is that I should not be going into school and my head teacher has been incredibly understanding. The problem I have found now is that my colleagues are now contacting me and worrying that I am sick, I feel in an awkward position and I don't want to lie to them.

My husband is also a teacher and will be going into school. It is hard not to feel nervous with everything going on. We decided to book an early scan has reasurance that it is a viable pregnancy. I will be 6 weeks and 4 days during the scan so I appreciate that there is not 100% chance of a heart beat etc. The hope is just to get some reasurance. It's hard not to overthink things whilst also in lockdown and feeling like I am letting my staff and children down.

Physical symptons so far: continous mild cramping, tender breasts and they do seem to have grown, tired a lot and overheated. The cramping did have me panic googling at times, however the cramps are not painful just irritating.

How is everyone else dealing with this and have you any words of wisdom please?

I found out just before lock-down was announced and am now nearly 16 weeks. The things I've taken as good points are:

1. No travelling into work with bad morning sickness
2. Having my husband around to wait on me (invaluable when cooking smells make me feel sick)
3. Being able to relax on the sofa whilst working from home.

I think essentially you just have to look after yourself and do what your body is telling you to do. If it says rest, then rest and eat what you feel like eating :) Take it one day at a time and hopefully it'll soon reach a point where we can go back to something like a normal existence.