• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Callin all Midwives/nurses/night workers with small children

laetitia85

Reaction score
:wave:
I have a degree in media and mass communications but I really, really, really want to change my career path and be a midwife :cheer:

However I know that studying midwifery and working as a midwife requires me to work nights. :( I wouldn't mind, but I don't see myself working nights with a baby.
How do you manage? What type of childcare do you use? How are you finding it?

i think you should go for it....Tbh i don't know how long it takes to qualify but you prob won't have a baby by then, more like a school age child :lol: :lol: so if you can leave him with oh over night come home take him to school then go to bed it should work out fine...and i think you will only work 3 nights a week when on nights :think:

You don't have to do night for your first year of training :D After that I've no idea how I'm going to work it.

ASD123456 said:
You don't have to do night for your first year of training :D After that I've no idea how I'm going to work it.

oooooh great news, i didn't know that! :D but yeah, what's gonna happen after?? :?

ASD123456 said:

ooooooooooooooooooooooo when do you start? or have u already started?

which uni you at? or going to?

I'd love to do it but its this thought that puts me off, I just don't know how I would work it with the 3 boys :(

I think for me the only solution would be coming home on time to take him to nursery. But let's imagine how that would work:

If i start a shift at 7PM, I leave for work, meaning my OH has to give him a bath, feed him, put him to bed, then go to bed without his wife... :(

Then I come home at 7AM, get Kenzo ready, take him to nursery, come home and sleep all day...