Anyone studying/has studied for a degree with a young baby?

josie271280

Reaction score
Hi all,

Just wanted some honest opinions on this really, on whether or not it is feasible...

I am almost 3 months pregnant, with my baby due late November. I currently work as an AutoCAD Technician but this is going to be far too stressful with a new baby I can tell, even part-time - everything seems to have an urgent deadline and required overtime or late working. I quite fancy becoming a teaching assistant, and then doing some study through the Open University to get a degree and eventually become a primary school teacher.

Has anyone else out there juggled a new baby/ies with studying and/or part-time work? I know this is probably something I should have done a while back but since wanting kids and falling preggers I have wanted so badly to work with children. I would probably have to do the part-time study route which would take 6 years (plus possible PGCE), and that alone requires around 12-16 hours of study a week!!

I'd really love to hear from all you super-mums who have managed to pull this off, so that I know there is hope for me yet!!

Also, anyone else considered switching careers to work with children once they'd had their own?

Thanks all :D

I did my BSc (Hons) in computer programming and business management when Tia was just 8 weeks old.... I came out with a 2:1 and I had loads of other cr*p going on at the time too...with my ex, my sister and my illness... so its more than feasible... :)

I had to study for a minimum of 20 hours a week at Uni in order to qualify for my loan and that had to be a recorded 80% attendance.

It was hard work... don't get me wrong... especially as a breastfed Tia and she didn't sleep at night... but it was worth while.. :)