A few questions from a newbie

NinjaKitty

Reaction score
Hello,

Apologies if some of this is going over old ground, however I could do with some input.

I'm new to TTC and I am at the end of my first official TTC cycle and AF kicked in yesterday (and I've got a cold booooo). I have done a lot of reading over the past couple of months and have taken folic acid for the past month etc, improved my diet and generally tried to start getting myself ready. However I still have a few questions which I couldn't find advice on.

I came off depo-provera last June (after being on it for well over a decade) and had my first cycle in November. Luckily my cycle kicked sraight back in on a regular 28 day cycle.

Last cycle when we were NTNP I had an odd experience during my LP about 8-9 days before AF was due. I was extremely hormonal and maternal (bearing in mind I've never ever felt broody ever), BBs were tingley and sore, and I had all sorts of tingley sensations in the womb area. I just knew that I was pregnant. This went on for about a week or so.However three days before I expected AF the sensations suddenly stopped and AF appeared that afternoon. Since them I am convinced that I conceived that month but for whatever reason it just didn't stick. This next month I am back to my regular 28 day cycle and had no similar sensations in between. I guess I'm wanting know if it was all in my head or is it likely that something did happen that month? Unfortunately I didn't have any EPT's so couldn't check.

That experience however made me realise that I was ready to start a family (took a while I am 37 and been with DH since over 20 years) so we are offcially now TTC. On that note I am going to crack open the OPK now I know I am into a good regular cycle. Having never used one of these before I wondered if any of you have found these effective? I've got the Persona kit.