when to go onmaternity leave??

mel_ed

Reaction score
just wondering when every one is finishing work?

i'm thinking of finishing about 3 weeks before i hope, its hard to know how u'll feel when uve never been pregant before.
what does everyone do as a job????

Hi,

I am going to try and save as much leave as possible and take the whole lot before, hopefully this will be about 4 weeks, but i agree, no idea how i will feel at the time!

Im an accountant, so im not on my feet all day, but the long hours will probably take their toll! How about you, what do you do?

xxx

i'm a dental nurse so up and down most of the day really. u heard you get ur full full years holiday before you leave to so think i'm gonna take 4 weeks hol then start my maternity a weeka after my due date.
i plan to have 9 months of so that'll make 10 months :)

I have to start my maternity leave on my due date at the latest, even if i offer to take holidays. Found out today that you get bank holidays in leiu as well, which is good.

If you are on your feet all day, you will probably want to finish as soon as you can!

Dont think i can afford to take more than 7 months off, need to look into it a bit more x

i know but i'd rather hav more time off with the baby. dont want to finish 2 early as will just be waiting around bord for the baby to come. does every get the bank holidays?? or is it just ur company.
i dont really know wot we can afford but hoping we can afford for me 2 have 9 months i wanna make the most of it as u cant go back on the time uve missed out on

They wont let yo start it after your due hun. The SMP part of it wont allow for it. You could try and negotiate adding your holiday entitlement on at the end but you should get it in writing :)

I am taking my full years holiday entitelment before i go on leave. I finish on 5th March for 4 weeks hols (i'll be 33 weeks) and i start my mat leave 1st April @ 37 weeks. I will return to work on the 1st working day of 2011 :)