when did/will everyone start maternity leave?

flower

Reaction score
Hi!

I was just wondering when the rest of you started or are planning on starting maternity leave. i was hoping on working to the end of august, but im totally shattered at the moment. I work in a shop and we have to do ten hour shifts, so i basically dont get to sit down all day.... and i live in spain and its absolutely boiling at the moment! i really want to start my leave no but my boss is being funny about it because she hasnt found a replacement yet, and now says i have to give her 21 days notice, even though before we had arranged that i would just stop working when i felt it was becoming too much. Sorry to go on about it, im just so fed up at the moment im dying to stop working!

I've started mine already, well actually I'm currently on annual leave til end of month which is when maternity starts :D

I started my maternity leave at 35 weeks. I was originally going to work till 38 weeks but, like you, I got tired working and wasn't feeling well.

I took 3 weeks annual leave before starting the maternity leave proper.

Not sure how the rules are in Spain but in UK they can enforce that you give them at least 4 weeks notice to change dates if they really want to. Depends how nice your employer is I suppose.

I hope you can get to finish early. :hug:

thanks for your replies girls.
I guess i will just have to work another few weeks and hope i dont get too tired! I wish by boss was a little bit nicer!

I stopped working about 3 years ago....not maternity leave just very early "retirement" I suppose. :rotfl: I don't know how you ladies cope with working once you hit the later days of T3 I really don't, hats off to you I just don't think I'd cope I'm exhausted.

i started 21st june..... which worked out well with me i suppose cos baby arrived 26th june :cheer: