What to do......????

Heatherlucie

Reaction score
Hi there,

I have a bit of a problem on my hands....can anyone help?!
In short I am a teacher who was employed on a years contract last September to cover maternity. I really hoped that the school would find a way to keep me but I have recently been told that I will have to leave at the end of my contract (July). I am nearly 8 weeks pregnant and no-one knows yet at school. The baby is due at the end of September so I would not get any maternity pay from my school as they will pay me up until Aug 31st (until my years contract expires).
The problem is is that in teaching they advertise jobs for September NOW!!! so do I hope that all goes well with this pregnancy and NOT apply for a job in September as I would be almost giving birth or....
Do I act as if Iam not pregnant and go for a job and not tell them. I know legally I don't have to and I am so early that I don't actually want to tell anyone at an interview anyhow. If I got a job for September and didn't tell them but had signed a contract would they still legally have to pay for my maternity leave?? In teaching they send the contracts out very quickly once appointed even if the job does not start for a number of months.

I really don't know what to do! I am an honest person but I really could do with the maternity money and have no idea anyhow of what the future will bring. I can only hope all goes well with the pregnancy.

If anyone can offer any guidance I would be most grateful.

Thanks!

Heather :hug:

I'd go for applying. I got pregnant only a month after I got my first permanent teaching post (though I'd already been in the school a year and half temporarily as a student and then probationer teacher/NQT). The school were very understanding. As you say they can't discriminate on the basis of your pregnancy but this is only the very basic entitlements.