What do i need for moses basket?

positivity :)

Reaction score
hi girls

i have just ordered a pack of 2 fitted sheets for the moses basket and it just occured to me i dont know what to do in terms of blankets..?

this is the basket...do we keep the top bit on when they are sleeping in there?

and here are the blankets which i'm starting to think might not be warm enough?

photo (34).JPG photo (35).JPG

what are your plans? sorry for sounding so stupid but i've only just thought about it! xx

Last edited:
I didnt use a blanket at first as i either swaddled or had baby in a grow bag. Left the cover thing on top though as you have pictured x

We've just got similar blankets to you plus cellular ones as plan to swaddle and layer up blankets if needed. Not got little quilt thing as even tho looks pretty not sure how safe as baby will be at foot end of basket? Also gro bags only to be used in a cot apparantly, not in crib or basket (says warning on packet) as I have no experience :eek:)

I bought this set from Tesco - http://direct.tesco.com/q/R.211-1806.aspx

It has 2 cotton fitted sheets in jersey, 2 cotton sheets in flannelette and 1 fleece blanket for £12. Bargain!

The basket my parents bought us (after I'd bought one second hand :roll:) comes with a sheet and blanket I think - http://www.johnlewis.com/231088566/Product.aspx

I've got 2 grow bags, a cellular blanket and a lovely fleecy one a friend bought that could also be uses on top.

Last edited:
At the risk of sounding stupid but what is swaddling? x

Google it for pics :eek:) its wrapping a newborn up with arms tucked in etc as they are used to being all tucked up in the womb and it helps them feel secure. Also they are born with a startle reflex that means when they are asleep they can suddenly flail their arms about which will wake them up so swaddling can help prevent this. However some babies hate it so its a case of try and see what your baby prefers! X