The OH's mother

Flame

Reaction score
Why do they always have to tell you what to do?!

This weekend she came over and we went shopping for bits and bobs while the blokes did some plastering and rewiring. She must have said over a hundred times that it is my responsibility to get the house in order, cleaned and sorted out etc, She says this constantly whenever we see her and does my head in with it. Now normally if it was anyone else i would have screamed at them by now as i am not good at being told what to do and being constantly nagged but somehow i have managed to keep my calm. I'm not sure how much longer i will be able to do this though as they are thinking of coming over for A WEEK!!!!!! sometime in April to help sort the garden out.

Then to top it all she was'nt impressed that i'm not going to breastfeed! I told her why but she seems to think that it is better for there immune system etc and that because my OH was fed that way that mine should be to, well i wasnt breastfed and my immune system is pretty good i reckon.

I have tried telling her and it doesnt work, even my mum knows when to stop with me but she doesnt. They are buying the nursery set and a tumble dryer for us so i dont really want to scream at her as i know she means well but it really is doing my head in and i'm not sure i will be able to put up with her for much longer if she keeps nagging me like this also if she starts telling me what to do when the baby is here i think we will have a massive fall out :?

GAAAHHH!!!! What would you do?

WELL tbh flame i go through the same thing with my MIL :wall: and it really pees me off but all DH says is dont let it worry you , but it does .

If we dont go down one weekend because we want to stop in she will ring to make sure we are staying in and just not spinging her a lie .

If we dont go down at xmas or when she has a bbq in the summer time she will make us feel guilty so we do end up in going down .