Sexual Discrimination???

hels

Reaction score
Its a bit long winded...so bare with me.
I realise whilst your pregnant that there are strict guidelines for employers, any breech of them may be seen as sexual discrimination. However i would like some of your valued advice regarding work PP.
As some of you know, my employers have been sh**e thru out my pregnancy, but we desperatly needed me to go back to work as i am the main earner. OH was to have Charlie, and we'd both work PT.
Any way, i ended up having a section, and with my job i need to be able to restrain patients if necessary (im a nurse in a secure unit) so i asked if i could go back to doing light duties like i did when i was preg, until i was phsyically fit enough to have patient contact. My nurse manager said, sure no probs and i went back to work a few weeks ago. it was a monday, i then went in again on the friday, and my manager found me and said 'sorry ive made a mistake' im not allowed to let you work light duties as im only allowed to let people work Light Duties if they have a work related injury, as id had a section it was my fault that i wasnt fit to work with patients. I was so wrapped up in being angry with him for not contacting me before i actually got Charlotte and OH up at 6, them to drive me to work, and for my the milk id defrosted out of the freezer (stupid man, does he not know how long it takes to express 500 mls???) But i know of 2 people who have worked light duties when they were not aloowed patient contact due to car accidents (personal reasons...like mine) i let it go as i am so soft, but today a friend has called me from work to tell me that a health care worker is working light duties due to an infected insect bite :shock: