Risk Assessment

Amanda

Reaction score
I've just had a Risk Assessment with my Manager to ensure that no harm will come to either me or the baby through doing my job, and it means that my job will change!!!

I work for a large global stationary company, in a small team of 8 in the IT Operations Department at their Leicester site. I am a Field Support Analyst which basically means I am responsible for all IT/Telephony and Server equipment on one site. This can obviously involve lifting and stretching and crawling around under desks. So we have come to the conclusion that I cannot do my job anymore without risk. I was given an option of going onto the IT Helpdesk, but I did that for over 3 years and towards the end, I hated it. I explained that I thought stresswise that would be worse for me than heavy lifting. Luckily my Manager knows me well, and he agreed. Then we came up with another option. One of my colleagues is purely project based, and he was hoping to get some help from one of us. Well, that is now going to be me!!! :D So as of next Monday, I will be desk based, have no driving between sites, no manual handling, and it doesn't matter if I'm turning green in the corner through morning sickness, I don't have to see anyone apart from who is in our office.

I was very worried before the meeting as I couldn't see what options I had, but now I'm really chuffed!! :D :D

aw, tankett - that's great news!! how are you doing anyway? hope you're feeling ok and not too tired or nauseous! :D

i had my desk assesment dont to i work 3days and sit down for 9hrs i get back ache so now i got a new chair and footrest but i hate it still sittin down is so uncomfy!

:) That's great Tankett-I wish my boss was as understanding as yours.
I work for Royal Mail,I'm a postie,and have been for around 8 years.