Really not coping :(

Lulu_Laroo

Reaction score
After a really horrible few days, I don't seem to be feeling any better.
I was told this morning that I may not have a job anymore, on top of everything else that has happened. They are going to have to lay me off because I work as a dental nurse, and we all have to be registered and they cannot find a course to put me on (waiting lists too long) so they are going to have to let me go if I can't find one myself ASAP, which I can't.

The only thing that was keeping positive was to try for another baby soon, but if I either don't have a job, or I've only just started a new job (I'm already applying for new positions) then we won't be able to ttc. I think you have to be somewhere for 6 months before they'll even let you have maternity leave won't they? I'm confused as to how all this maternity leave works. If I wasn't entitled to it, would I get similar maternity benefits from the government? Is there anybody reading this who has fallen pregnant whilst out of work and coped financially?
I really need to see a light at the end of this awfully long tunnel :(

If you were not elligble for this statuatory maternity pay via your employer there is a maternty allowance from the government that you will be eligle for if you work full or part time.

http://webarchive.nationalarchives....kentitlements/Parentalleaveandpay/DG_10029290

It's a lower value tho,

Then there is working families tax credit is great, once you have the baby, you can apply for this and it gets paid weekly, all you need is a child, and one of you or your partner to work more than 30 hours a week, it made a big difference to us at the time. (all it does is top up to bring your family income up to a minimum l evel, and it can be a higher level than you think.

Plus when baby is born you get child benifit of £20.30 per week for the first child, payable every 4 weeks

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/childbenefit/payments-entitlements/payments/rates.htm#1