Panic!

megsmeadow

Reaction score
This is my second week back at work and until now had gone reasonably well, I'm doing a phased return and have a fab manager. I was under the false impression that most folk knew why I was off however I work in a hospital and some folk don't miss you if there's different shifts etc. it's only when you see someone that you realise it's been a few weeks since you saw them last. Well that's exactly what happened. I walked into a ward and a colleague greeted me saying she hadn't seen me for ages, and rattled on about when my scan was and were we finding out the sex etc. I had to interrupt her to say I'd lost the baby bearing in mind I'd have been about 27 weeks by now and although fat I definitely don't look pregnant anymore) to which she apologised but started asking more questions, when was this, what happened.

I thought I was prepared for this sort of thing but I couldn't hold it together and left immediately in tears and starting to have a mild panic attack. Thankfully I was able to return to the safety of my office where my colleagues are friends too. I calmed down and got my coat. How do you cope when people ask out of the blue? Most folk at work knew I was pregnant and if they didn't at 20 weeks it was pretty obvious. I need to find some strategies for this, maybe since it's happened now I'll be more prepared. Feeling a bit shaken by it all.

Oh sweetheart. I am so sorry. I really don't know what to say other than offer a hug. Xxx

Thanks Gayle, my head is so fuzzy tonight, it's taken so much out of me. x

Big Hugs hun. I don't know of anything I can say to help you either.

I know that I lost mine a hell of a lot earlier than you and some people know some people didn't. I got asked a lot of questions as I had missed the busy time at our work most knew I was in hospital though.