Natural intercourse vs ovulation kits / testing??

PinkPunch

Reaction score
After reading kmac's post on another thread (general question about TTC- newbie here) I thought it was a good point and got me thinking.

I've not been ttc for very long either.
I came off the pill a year ago, but my periods are still not regular.
I was at the docs anyway yesterday and decided to ask her about this and how it may affect ttc. She said NOT to chart temps or do ovulation tests, just to make sure there is plenty sperm going in (every 2-3 days) and not to worry about it.

My question is, do you actually enjoy trying to conceive or does charting / monitoring every stage make you obessed and stress out too much?

I've always had this idea of just being able to have sex without a condom anytime we like with the attitude of "it will happen when it happens". But after reading alot of TTC info, I fear I may become to obessed with charts / monitoring every movement, that I will be disappointed when it doesn't happen at first.

Whats your thoughts on this?

I started my TTC journey with the attitude of just doing loads of BDing and it will happen in a couple of months or so. When it hadn't happend I started to work out dates so at least I had an idea of when the best time was. When that still didn't work I started charting temps and using OPK's..........still hasn't worked though!! :wall: :wall:

although I'm still not pregnant I have found that charting makes me feel like I'm in control of TTC and not just waiting for it. Yes I'm upset every month when I'm not PG but I would be upset whether I was charting or not. Also I've learned so much about how my body works and lookig at the signs that I'm glad I charted. Plus it gives me something to focus on instead of worrying about whether I was infertile or not! :hug: