midwife,what midwife?!

sarahking

Reaction score
Hi everyone.

Im aftre a bit of advide and info about what your midwife has been doin for you. I know we are all roughly at same stage. I have only seen my midwife twice, once at 7weeks to confirm and then she came to my house at 12 weeks and thats my lot! i have had a scan but only due to spotting! i mentioned 12week scan to her but she just told me i was being old fashioned! im only 21 years old, thought 12week scan was normal, thats what all my mags say!

She told me that id get a scan at 18weeks and an appointment would come through the post. So far it hasnt! (technically i suppose she has 4days before i really moan!)

I have been reading all your posts and you all sound like your midwifes are fantastic. I havent been offered any downs syndrome test or anything. Sorry if im moaning over nothing but if you could let me know if you are similar or not? :?

I have never done this before and when you feel you need all the contact and help in the world from your midwife i cant even remember what she looks like! i have visions of me giving birth alone at this rate!

If you could kindly fill me in on your ecxperiences i would be very grateful!

Take care girls xxxx

Sarah x
Ps sorry to moan x :cry:

Hi Sarah, That does sound quite slack maybe its because they are really under staffed in your area, not that this should be a good enough reason. This is my third and i'm sure they think i should know all the in's and outs because i feel they have totally left me to go it alone, being a "pro" now :?
with my second pregnancy i didnt have a scan at 12wks because i had an earlier scan, so they dated me then, the next one i had was at 20 wks and i only started seeing the midwife towards the end of my second trimester. if your not happy you can contact the midwifes board and they should look into the matter and perhaps change your midwife, this may mean you have to travel further for appointments tho.