Maternity Leave

Tulips

Reaction score
Hello Ladies!

I'm really struggling w/ planning when to start my maternity leave. I always assumed you "work untill you pop" :D but MW tells me the norm is 4-6 weeks before? What are you guys going to do?

It's so difficult, I'm a first timer and although I'm absolutely fine now at 24 weeks I've got no idea what I'll be like towards the end. Would love to hear what you guys are planning!

~Tulips X X

I have decided to start my maternity leave 3 weeks before I am due. Some people say that is quite late but my job involves sitting at a desk all day, if I am finding it a struggle then my boss will let me go earlier but I am reluctant to as I only get the basic maternity pay and the longer I can get my normal wages the better! :D

this is my 4th and i wouldn't recommend working after 37weeks or so - its not that you feel ill but it is difficult to sleep by that point and nice to know that you can have a snooze dring the day :sleep: i am a teacher so i'm really lucky - i finish school at the end of june :cheer: and i am coming back to work for the last week in aug/1st week in sept - due to start mleave on mon10th at 37weeks (babes is due 1st of oct but i will have a section at 39 weeks) 10th suits me as well as my dd is starting primary school that day and it gives me a chance to get her all settled before lo arrives.
Perhaps your boss would let you play it by ear and simply let him/her know about a week before you want to finish? But i would def. have some time to yourself to recharge your batteries before lo decides to drain them :lol:

im on mine now as of fathers day and not due back till march/june 08 :dance: dont have to take alll that time of if i dont want too

i am taking mine from 35 weeks, i would probably have worked a bit later but i am on my feet all day at work rushing around so think i might be glad of it by 35 weeks :)