Maternity Leave - when?

KirstyL

Reaction score
Me again! (Not very busy at work today, can you tell!)
Well anyway, long story short, I work as a contractor through an Umbrella Company, and my current contract is due to end on the 31st May, I know you can start Mat leave 11 weeks prior, so can officially leave on the 4th May.
Was wondering what you girls thought really, would you go on Mat leave with 11 or 7 weeks left till baby due?! I’m just thinking I don’t wanna be stuck at home, bored stiff, with not a lot to do, cause when I’m bored, I tend to eat, and I’m already ballooning, haha J
When is everyone else finishing work?
xx

11 - but I hate my job! I'm gonna do my garden, the nursery, all the little jobs I put off around the house, cleaning windows, skirtings, cupboards etc And have those last couple of months to just be ME! :) x

Sounds like heaven to me hunni! Even cleaning windows and backs of cupboards is preferable to my job, lol
I hate my job too, it does my head in, it isn't busy for a start, which doesn't help, but there are a couple of people here who constantly pick! At anything and everything I do, it does my head in, constant stress and pressure is no good, but then I look at it the other way and think if I leave work 4 weeks earlier than planned, that's 4 weeks' less money, which is obviously gonna come in handy with a LO :)
xx

my advice to you is that if you're fit to work,as boring as it gets,keep working til you can cause you're going to need every penny for this baby..

I know you're totally right, if I sat and thought about it, that's the obvious answer (yeah I'm fit to work, atm), just the sooner I get out of this place, the better. x

I don't blame you ! take some paid leave towards the end,a day here a day there if you feel you're about to crack ! and make sure your mw appointement are at stupid time like 3 pm so you can leave the office at lunchtime and skip the rest of the afternoon, lol