• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Maternity Allowance- Earnings before it

moss

Reaction score
I'm a full time student but I am going to qualify for maternity allowance according to the woman I just spoke to on the phone. She mentioned, though, that the student she had just spoken to is only going to get around £27 a week because she was hardly making any NI contributions. Does anyone know roughly how much you need to earn in order to qualify for the maximum allowance and how I can figure out what I might get? I only get around $130 a week now but will soon be full-time for around 3 months before the baby is born.

Oh! And also, I was on an NHS contract but not always working for them during some of the qualifying time for MA (kind of like working for an agency)... Apparently not working some weeks won't necessarily disqualify those weeks from counting as working since I was technically on a payroll. Problem is, I can't remember how much I actually was working and I don't have my payslips. How do I prove I was working at all during that time? The NHS aren't being helpful. They are saying there is no way they can look into that because it would take too long. grr.

I'm not 100% sure of the answers but for me to claim for my MA I had to sent off 13 (i think it was 13) weeks worth of payslips from anytime in the last 66 weeks - so naturally i chose the highest paid ones! The most you can get from MA is £116.75 a week, if your average earnings from the payslips you send is LESS than 116.75 you get 90% of whatever that average is.

I'm getting the full 116.75 a week