induction worries

towers

Reaction score
I am likely to be induced as fuid level around the baby is low and I have gestational diabetes. I am 37 weeks now and have another scan booked for tomorrow when i think I will be given a date. Can anyone tell me what usually happens during an induction and is there anthing I should be asking about tomorrow. Is it more painful to be induced than a natural labour etc, i'm new to all this so amy info would be greatly received :)

:wave: I'm due to be induced this friday and have been told what to expect by my Dr. I will go in on fri night at 6pm and they will insert a prostaglandin pessary into the vagina which will hopefully have the effect of softening the cervix and bringing on contractions. The Dr. told me I can go out and have dinner near the hosp and wait for things to kick off. They will keep monitoring me over night and if nothing happens they will insert another prostaglandin pessary in the morning and that should start the contractions. If it doesn't then they continue again 6 hrs later with another one (but hopefully no. 1/2 should work). Dr. has said that the prostaglandin inuduction should not make things any longer or more painful. I know some hospitals use oxytocin drips to induce as well but I don't know too much about this as my DR. doesn't use this method. Don't worry I know loads of people who have been induced and had lovely, natural deliveries. My mum had to be induced for all 3 of us and she had 3 positive experiences :D

i was induced at 37 weeks, first of all baby was fine, weighed 8lb 7oz so a really healthy baby boy!!!!!