I got my maternity allowance accepted, what else could I be entitled to? X

HannahsBaby

Reaction score
So, I sent off my payslips etc in the post 2 weeks ago, and I got the result back this week :mail:

They are going to pay me £88.75 a week - which i'm pleased about :)

What other benefits do I get - I think child benefit and child tax credit?? how much are these? (i'm new to any kind of benefit) :sling1:.... xx

Everyone is entitled to child benefit and child tax credits i think? I think child benefit is about 80 a month...might be wrong though as i have never got it before. Other benefits will depend on if you have a OH who is working and how many hours xxx

i thought maternity allowence was 128 a week. does it go by earnings then? xxx

i thought maternity allowence was 128 a week. does it go by earnings then? xxx

not always:-

''Maternity Allowance pays a standard weekly rate of £128.73 or 90 per cent of your average gross weekly earnings (before tax), whichever is the smaller.
MA is paid for a maximum period of 39 weeks.
The amount of Maternity Allowance you get depends on your gross average weekly earnings or the amount you are treated as earning from your self-employment. More specific information on how your payment of Maternity Allowance is worked out can be found in the leaflet 'A Guide to Maternity Benefits - NI17A'''

oh thanks. well i was on 350 a week so guessing i would get 128. will find out soon xxx

Probably working tax credits and child tax credits? If you go on direct.gov.uk there is a calculator telling you what you shoud be entitled to and another calculator telling you how much you would get :) there's things like money towards council tax and housing benefit that I had never heard of! I suppose they all depend on peoples earnings though xxx

oh thanks. well i was on 350 a week so guessing i would get 128. will find out soon xxx