How far in advance to take maternity leave

DDS

Reaction score
Hi there.
Soon i will need to give my date, of intended start of maternity leave.
I am due 19th Jan. I would like to take it as late as possible, rather svaing my maternity leave for when the baby is born. I was thinking 1 week, but have nver had a child i am not sure if i will be too tired by then. Alternatively 1 week before, then using some annual leave to work 2/3 days per week for 2 weeks leading up to my one week.
Any ideas from experianced mums.
I work in a hospital, and see patients almost daily.
Thanks

Hi there :wave:

I too am due on 19th January and this is my first baby - I plan to go on maternity leave on 2nd January all being well, but its hard to know how tired u will be by then!!

xx

I think about 4 weeks before is good - I don't know what you do, but sitting in an office chair all day is quite uncomfortable when you're huge! This time round I am finishing at 32 weeks on the Friday before Xmas because i thought that would be quite a nice time to finish and taking the full 52 weeks - to will be taking the whole of 2009 off I can't wait counting the days now!

I too I'm finishing up at xmas which will be about 4 weeks before I'm due....... I couldnt be bothered with the drag of going back after the xmas break!

plus I dont have enough holidays to be off the xmas period so didnt particularly want to be in the office when its really empty :shhh:

I'm starting my maternity leave at 38+1 on 15th December. I think I'll probably stick a couple of weeks holiday in front to try and get all the Christmas presents and wrapping out of the way as early as possible! :pray:

I'll be leaving work at 35 weeks but I have 6 weeks of annual leave saved up so not taking my actualy maternity leave until due date and having 5 weeks off before this as annual leave and the other week of my annual leave on the other end (baby end!)