Hospital Bags and other questions

Little Bump

Reaction score
This might sound a silly question, but what size hospital bag do I need?

What do I need in it? I have so far, from my shopping trips :D any excuse :wink:

* 2 nighties that open at the front
* Dressing gown
* Slippers
* 2 towels (bath)
* Clean set of clothes
* Pack of disposable knickers
* Breast pads

Also, what will baby need in her bag? How many clothes changes? Nappies? Blankets?

I've never done this before and my midwife likes to shove you out the door asap. To be honest I feel as though I'm treated a little second class as I'm 24 but look hell of a lot younger....like yesterday, at hospital, the doctor was talking to OH who's in his 30's) as though I wasn't there! We've both noticed that the midwife does this too, when talking about things she obviously deems too incomprehendable for me :wall: So as you can imagine I don't feel as though I can ask many questions....

Anything else I'll need to take with me?

There are quite a few good lists online if you google hospital bag. You'll need maternity pads for sure, blood loss after is quite heavy and normal pads don't cut it. I have two bags, one for labour and one for the ward afterwards. I just leave the ward bag in the car whilst in labour and then my dh can go and get my other bag once settled on the ward.

As for baby I have one blanket for coming home with because they usually provide blankets in the hospital. I have one pack of nappies, cotton wool, 3 sleepsuits and vests, some scratch mits, a hat and a jacket just incase it's raining or something.

Awww hun sorry you feel you're being treated differently because you look young. I had the same thing when I had my son, I was 19 at the time and was fine until I had him and some of the midwives in hospital treated me awfully! Haven't noticed it this time round again so far but will see when I'm back in hospital again. I'm 22 now but still look quite young so we shall see!