French Mother and Baby group

HideiLu

Reaction score
There was an article on local news tonight about a French speaking mother and baby group - with all the songs and activites in French! It's aimed at developing the language. My family are French, though my abiliy to speak it is embaressingly slack, so I'm going to sign Jack and I up!

Is any one else bringing up a child bilingual? Or do you think i's all a waste of time so early on?

What do you mean by a waste of time? There are many things we do with our children that could be classed as that but are not. If you do lots of stuff in French now but from a few years old he is never exposed to the language he almost certainly won't remember it but that doesn't mean it's a waste.

For what it's worth, I'm a French teacher and I speak French to DD and we have lots of French books and I have French stories on CD and Disney DVDs and stuff so it's not just my voice and accent she hears. I don't speak enough for her to be bilingual by any stretch of the imagination but then she can't speak English yet so I guess it doesn't matter too much :rotfl: I'd like to be able to ave conversations with her in French (in say 5 years time) but I find it hard to introduce without alienating others. The most common way to bring up a child as bilingual is to have one parent (or both) only speak in the foreign language and as OH doesn't speak French it would just be rude a lot of the time, IMO. I have known bilingual children and there is no confusion and they are perfectly capable in either language.

I've read reports on it and the stimulation of being immersed in 2 languages (so not just an occasional song or story but fully immersed for prolonged periods of time, the rubbish chatty language as well as the song words if you like) is supposed to be very good for their brain power and stuff. Being immersed in 3 languages can delay the start of their speech but is not detrimental to their intelligence or ability.