cars and runnning costs

Kimbo

Reaction score
im thinking of getting a new (well, 2nd hand) car before the baby's born because i'm finding it quite costly to run now.

its a 1999 renualt clio and i paid £1500 for it.
tax is £110 a year, insurance is £650 a year... and £30 fills the petrol tank up.
id say i use a full tank a week.
ive been drving for 2 and a half years so have 2 years no claims.
whats everyone elses cost?
im 19 and i know insurance goes off age etc and how long uve been driving for.

dont forget im a student so i struggle! lol

erm , my insurance is 700 , which isnt bad considering i had a theft last year . tax is high tho as its a 1.8 and being 200 bhp , it eat petrol like its going out of fashion :rotfl: but i dont have to use it for work , infact i hardly use her ! but when im not gonan be working , my van has to go back so will be in car alot more ! hence why i might have to give up my lil miss sporty hatch back for a diesel :rotfl: :cry: oh and the fact i paid 10500 for her and now would be lucky to get 6 / 7 k max and its only 2 years on :cry:

oh im 25 , and only have 2 ync due to the theft last year took 2 off me :twisted: and car is grp 16 insurance :lol:

as a student i used endsleigh as they do a 20% discount for students

My car cost £3500 (seat ibiza 2001) tax £140 per year, insurance £200 per year (6 yrs NCB :wink: ) full tank costs £40, use a tank full while at work evry 2 weeks or on maternity leave every 2 months (only use once a week for the shop, otherwise i catch the tram everywhere- Only filled it up once since Jake was born LOL)

been driving for 6 years (but im 28)

In the new year me and OH are both gonna sell our cars (well, part X mine) and we are getting a BRAND NEW CAR!!!!!!!!! Im so excited :cheer: :cheer:

cost of services/mot and excess even if some1 hits you.