Benefits as a student?

Levi89

Reaction score
Hi ladies,

I had a look on the appropriate websites regarding what or if I am entitled to anything at all with me being a student. I've worked all my days - infact I've worked since I was 13 - and this is the first time I've been out of employment.

I just don't know where to start?! Has anyone been in the same situation? xx

hi hun,

i was a student when i was pregnant/ had my son! (Uni??) we were entitild to housing benefit. Not normally allowed for students however we had exceptional circumstances.

Alsochild benefit and tax credits when baby arrived. also the student loan company will pay for childcare (up to a certain amount) in a child care grant that they have. If you need information please dont hesitate to pm me... x

You can claim benefits, however they take your student finance ( if you have it) as income...

We are in the same situation - OH is a student, I'm on a gap year. He gets his bursary and loan which means we don't get any benefits...he does however work 16 hours a week which means he gets tax credits too - couldn't get by without those! Xx

when i was a student my oh was a student bot on an MA so he had no income rom loans/bursaries. they took by loan grant and bursary in to consideration and got child ben and housing ben! x

Ah see they told us we were getting too much bursary to get anything..., we can claim during the summer when we don't get anything from saas x

ahhhh!!!! might depend on areas or something i dunno cos we got it all the time!! xxxxx

Yeah I'm in Scotland, so we get a bursary for 10 months of the year and its awarded by the Studentds Award Agency Scotland (SAAS) xx we get the max cause we've got a baby, so we get £900 a month from them and PJs work combined so not entitled to HB x our rent is £450 a month and council tax is £160 gas and elec £100 which leaves us £200 for everything else x its doable but our tax credits reaally help xx