baby slings

umbongo

Reaction score
I really want to use one but don't know where to start. There's a sling library but it's a fair few miles away and I'd have to wait til I got baby first of course, to try them out.
Anyone else used them or considering it? There seem to be a lot out there...

xx

With last baby I used the moby wrap. At the time I liked it a lot, I probably used it for 6 months but had a really small baby so even when I stopped using it he was the size of an average old. I did end up with really bad shoulder pain though, not sure if it was related to the sling. But when baby was very young and couldnt support his head he would be more on the left side and it was my left shoulder that was sore.

My friend had a baby bjorn carrier and she didn't get on with it but I have no experience with it.

A sling library sounds great though wish there was one near here. xx

yes, i guess it's the best idea to try some out rather than shell out on one I don't get on with. Will give me somewhere to go with baby too, as won't have much else going on! Just baby and me quite early on as hubby will only have a max of a week off. x

you can often visit sling meets before baby is born to get an idea of what you like. I'm yet to pluck up the courage though, just email them and ask. I've got a second hand one (can't even remember what it is now) so gonna have a practice with a teddy lol.
It was in with a bundle I brought.

Xx

It's definitely best to try them out as different slings seem to suit different people. We had a baby Bjorn carrier which after a while was not comfy at all (and apparently doesn't put baby in the best position). We then moved onto a wrap like a moby which was really comfy, I just found it really hot and I wouldn't have like to have used it when my LO was really small. We have now purchased an Ergo, which goes from birth until toddler, after going to our local sling library and trying different ones out x