Any students or mums studying out there?

Sarah13

Reaction score
I'm a mature architecture student and I'm trying to decide whether to go into year 4 and 5 at uni this year or wait a year. I already have a teenage daughter, so not a first time mum, but I worked when I had her so just dropped her off with the child minder then went to work, I went back when she was 16 weeks. This time I haven't a clue what to do, most of my studies are from home and the course is very demanding but I'm not sure if it would be harder to study with a new baby or in a years time with a one year old. Plus I could probably only take a couple of weeks off when baby is born so I dont miss too much work. I just want the course finished so I can qualify and get back out to work but am I taking on too much, everyone around me seems surprised I'm even thinking about continuing at uni! I've not spoken to any tutors yet as I'm still only 13 weeks and want things straight in my head about what I should do. Oh I also have no family nearby to help so childcare would need to be sorted as well!

Id leave it a year to be honest. I went back to finish my 3rd year (just a normal 3 year BA) as she was 8 weeks old when the year started. But you'd have to miss a fair few weeks in the middle of the year to have the baby. By the time next september rolls around I think it'd be much easier to cope with. Baby can still go to childcare and you can go uni and by then (hopefully!) baby will have a sleep routine so you know you can get work done in the evenings. Its way easier to get someone to look after a baby for a few hours while you do work once theyre a bit older as well.