Any experience with labour and broken bones?

tinkerbell86

Reaction score
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone has any experience or ideas as to how I can make life easier as I currently have broken my ankle and cannot put any weight on it for 6 weeks.
Baby is due on Saturday (9th Oct) and i know the hospital have said i can have crutches once baby is here (which apparently will be easier along with no bump in the way) but i was wondering if anyone could help as to how to do as much as i can as obviously am not going to be able to carry baby around until my ankle is more stable.
Also any ideas as to labour and how i'm going to be able to have a normal delivery with a unstable ankle and (fingers crossed) a hard plaster cast on my right leg without doing more damage?

Sorry for the long post but i'm trying to work out how everything will work!!

I have no experience in this sorry, but wanted to say when in labour you will forget all about your ankle, i think the main problem will be if you want to walk around in early labour, will your husband be with you after the birth for a few days because he can help you by passing baby to you put its crib right beside your couch, and nappies wipes etc, if you breastfeeding the most you will have to do is get the baby out of crib from beside you, if you bottle feeding you will have to try and get a bit prepared and make a bottle up just before you think the baby will wake to be fed. I hope I have helped a little bit in giving you a few tips, i'm not saying it will be easy just saying i think it is just about doable.

god what a nighmare!! i dont have any experience but what mumofmany said is just to make life as convenient as possible for yourself x

No experience but sending you big hugs x I think the hardest thing will be if you want to get up and be mobile but you can't! x fingers crossed all goes well x maybe ask mw for some tips?