Work Rant grrrrr

rachyryan

Reaction score
So upset with work just now, any radiographers your advice would be appreciated! I am a radiology nurse and part of my role is to scrub for procedures, this involves wearing a lead coat that weighs a tonne and can be on my feet for hours scrubbed. Since announcing my pregnancy I havn't really scrubbed but recently as the other nurse i work with has bad back problems and i am tri 2 i have scrubbed a few times.

This week the nurse i work with is away on hols and then leaves for a new job next week, i scrubbed for a procedure and basically was on my feet in a lead coat for 3 hours no break, no seat no toilet nothing from 9 till half 2 (3 hours in lead). I was so angry i phoned my union and typed of a big email to the bosses. They have no intentions of replacing my colleague leaving me the only nurse and i will be expected to scrub for every procedure, this is not on. Anyway i got a reply today saying the are considering moving me to a more appropriate clinical role. Why should i move department, there are plenty other thigs that i can and am happy to do i just need a nurse who can scrub and i can do the monitoring etc. I feel i am being punished for sticking up for myself and pointing out that they are not even attempting to stcik to the risk assessment that was put in place. What do i do?

Sorry about the long rant but need to vent! On the plus side i am now on annual leave for 2 weeks and off to Spain on sunday for 2 weeks so by the time i come back who knows where i will be working.

Have u had a risk assessment? They should atleast provide a chair for u! Do u work with sources? Maybe worth talking to medical physics about an alternative to lead coat!