When should I start maternity leave?

mustard

Reaction score
My boss wants to know what my thoughts are what date I will start maternity leave but I don't really know. I feel pretty healthy at the moment but it is very difficult to predict how I will feel in 10 or 15 weeks. I work in an opticians so not exactly manual labout but I am on my feet a lot. What is everyone else thinking?

I'm the same as u! Half office based but going to try and work to 36 weeks!! but like you goin with the flow at bit xx

i said i was gonna go mid feb but then changed my mind cos i pretty much hate my work so im taking off on 1st jan, 9 weeks before im due lol

I am due 25th December and last day at work is 9th December x

Everyone is different I think. I work in retail and finished work at 30 weeks, this is because being on my feet all day got too much and my feet were starting to swell too much because of it. Do they provide you with a chair? You can always choose a later date and change the date to earlier if you need to. I think most companys prefer 4 weeks notice. But if you are to go off work sick within 11 weeks before baby is due your company can legally start your maternity leave from the date you went off sick xx

I'm starting Mat leave on 26th December and I'm due on 21st January so about 36 weeks x

Wow you all seem to be working pretty late I was thinking stopping at 32 to 34 weeks so around the beginning of jan. Maybe it will depend on the weather.

Everyone is different I think. I work in retail and finished work at 30 weeks, this is because being on my feet all day got too much and my feet were starting to swell too much because of it. Do they provide you with a chair? You can always choose a later date and change the date to earlier if you need to. I think most companys prefer 4 weeks notice. But if you are to go off work sick within 11 weeks before baby is due your company can legally start your maternity leave from the date you went off sick xx