TTC and UTI?

Alicebabe

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to the forum

I'm Alice, my partner is Matthew. We are both 26 and been together over 3 years. I'm a 3rd year student nurse and will hopefully qualify in September.

I've never been pregnant but never tried before, been on the pill for 10 years! Came off 2 months ago and still not pregnant (I know its early days!) Bought an Ovutel fertility monitor but never seen anything that looks like a fertile period. Been working out ovulation by dates instead.

Anyhow, my question is - after we started trying, I got a UTI. My doc told me it was because I wasn't going to the loo after sex. Now call me stupid please, but doesn't gravity kind of stop you getting pregnant if you sit on the loo after sex? I don't want to get another UTI but I'm more keen on the idea of putting my legs in the air for half an hour. LOL!

Sorry to be graphic! Can anyone offer me advice on this please?

Alice x :pray:

Hi Alice, and welcome to the forum :D

I'm not sure what your doctor was on about, but I do agree with you that the upstream swim isn't going to be aided by a trip to the loo straight afterwards! I've spent many a time wiggling around on my head trying to get them to go in the right direction - who knows if it works ... but all we can do is try! :lol:

He he - its a gruesome subject! :oops: Well, apparently, you are supposed to go to the loo after sex to flush out germs from you urethra. Thats what I always did when I wasn't TTC and as soon as I stopped doing that and started doing some upside down type aerobics with a pillow under my bum (you know what I mean), I got a UTI! Its gone now but I'm worried about the same thing happening.

Good luck everyone x

Hi hun,