Triple Test results

pie&twink

Reaction score
Hi Girlies :wave:

I've had my Triple Test results back but, as usual nothing has been explained to me, it says 1:2000 on my letter. Can't remember what my daughters results were?!

Is this ok ? :think: I'm sure it is but you always have the doubt in your mind & I just need reassurance.

I don't see midwife again til 20th June so just need peace of mind before then really.

Thanks

I'm sorry I don't have any advice but didn't like to read and run so heres some big hugs instead! :hug: :hug: :hug: :hug: :hug: :hug:

I think if there was any reason to be concerned then they would be asking you to make a follow up appointment.

I'm no expert but the way I understand it is that you have a 1 in 2000 chance which I think is low risk, but I'm sure there are other girls here who can explain better.

One thing though, if you are concerned or just want someone to talk through your results with you then ring your midwife and explain I'm sure she'll be more than happy to chat to you to help put your mind at ease.

The consultant told me I was low risk (I didn't have the test, just in general, age etc terms) and mine was something like 1:1500 so I think 1:2000 is fine :D

1 in 2000 is a good result Honey, just means 1 birth out of 2000 will result in a child with downs syndrome/spina bifida.

I got my letter yesterday and it says:
"I am sure you will be pleased to hear that your recent maternal screening test has shown that your baby is not at high risk for Down Syndrome or Spina Bifida." It then goes on to say "The results show that your chance of having a baby with Down Syndrome is: 1 in 715"

If mine is 1 in 715 then yours is almost 3 times as good as mine. If you were at high risk then you would have more likely got a phone call from the midwife instead. That's what they told me would happen.

Congratulations Honey,
Sarah xxx

pie&twink said: