• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Recommended parenting reading for the total beginner?

shesmurf

Reaction score
Hello ladies,
I'm currently 22weeks with number one and this week it's all suddenly become very real - possibly something to do with the fact that I can now not only feel but see my belly moving!

I have no young children in my family and am the first of my group of friends to have kids. I'm the weird person who never wants to hold a newborn for fear of hurting them when everyone esle is desperate for a hold!

I'm looking for advice on what to read to prepare? I don't think any amount of reading would totally prepare anyone but I'd like to at least have a general clue before I bring home our bundle. My OH is brilliant with babies and older kids but he will be at work all day while I'm on maternity leave and I've no idea what my maternal instincts are going to be like at the moment. Starting to panic a little bit :?

Any advice appreciated, Cheers!

I tend to recommened this one. The Great Ormond Street New Baby and Child Care Book: The Essential Guide for Parents of Children Aged 0-5

Mainly as its a no nonsense, clear and concise book that does not sound like a writer telling you how to do everything. If you want a specific routine/how to parent type book then you need to look at certain authors but tbh I think its good to find your own way and learn what works for you.