Post section question

MrsB2105

Reaction score
Never had a section before, having one in 2 weeks. I am curious to know how quick bleeding starts afterwards? I'm slightly concern as I bled a lot after my son, I have a bleeding disorder that corrects itself when I'm pregnant. It came back with a vengeance after my son which was vaginal delivery.
How quick after section does bleeding start? Is it similar to the bleed after a vaginal delivery?
All experience and knowledge welcome :) x

Hi hun, I had 2 sections, my bleeding started straight away xx I have no experience of natural birth so I only assume it's the same xx I bled heavy after both mine xx best of luck xx

Thankyou :) I hate not knowing what to expect x

Hi hun, I had 2 sections, my bleeding started straight away xx I have no experience of natural birth so I only assume it's the same xx I bled heavy after both mine xx best of luck xx

I've had one section, I bled straight afterwards. Assumed this was normal!

I was the same and bled straight after my section. Good luck for your section and hope you have a quick recovery x

I've had a natural delivery and a section this time. With my natural delivery I bled very heavily whereas this time it was much lighter post section but started straight away. I'm not sure if lighter is normal but I had a big bleed after my section because I'd retained clots and lost 2 and a half litres of blood so it may just have been light as I had very little to spare!!! Xx

I hope you have recovered well, I read that they give you a weeks worth of blood thinning injections, is that true? X

Hi yes - I think its 10 days. You get it in hospital then they give you pre filled syringes for home to do yourself xx

Well that will be fun ... That's my husband wondering off while I do that then :) x

Mine was green around the gills when it was mentioned let alone doing it for me!!! Xx

Haha I mentioned it to him and he apologised and said he won't be doing it for me :) x