Nursery Vs Childminders

kiansmummy

Reaction score
Hiya just after a little bit of advice/support really.I am a nursery nurse and My little boy is 13 months old and he currently goes to the same nursery which i work in, he is in the baby room and i work next door in the toddler room, he has been coming to nursery since the end of may when he was 8 months old, but he is still as unsettled now as he was the day he started.He is a mummys boy but I think the reasons for him still being unsettled is because at times he can see me in the other room, and obviously as im working i cant go and pick him up, ive asked for a transfer to another nursery etc, but my manager says i have to grin and bear it he will get used to it. Another reason why i think hes still unsettled is that there are 12 babys in the baby room, and he tends to like the one to one attention and as the baby room is full he doesnt get the one to one which he likes. I just think now also that he has been put off the nursery environment and sees it as a bad place if u get me. So ive been thinking of changing and trying him with a child minder i think he might be better if its in more of a homely environment doing more normal everyday things? So i was wondering if anyone had any experiance of childminders or both (childminders and nurserys) would you recommend them, what to look for when finding one etc? And also would you say nursery is better or worse? xx

Isla goes to a Childminder and loves it! She is so flexible, food included and works from 7-6 for £3.50 an hour :) I like how Isla gets to go out and about, see her little friends but can also chill on the sofa with her.

Emma x