Maybe I'm mad, but this is my first time

NewboldNewMum

Reaction score
I've noticed a lot of new mums to be on here as well as mums who are having more little ones. Just wanted to get something off my chest really and ask if anyone else has had the same problem.

When I found out I was pregnant, just before Christmas, after doing no less than 3 tests, I phoned my doctors to make an appointment to get my pregnancy confirmed by the doctor. Having just recently moved, I moved doctors too, and the receptionist told me that the doctors do not actually confirm it any more and she point blankly asked me for the date of the start of my last period and then without telling me my due date, she went right ahead and booked me in with the midwife. I thought that it was all a bit odd and it really upset me, to think that a receptionist, who with no qualifications about doctoring or midwifery should be allowed to treat me(a first time mum to be) with such disrespect as she did. Not only that, she was trying to refuse me to actually see the doctor as well, I'd had enough of her in the end and told her that I wanted to see the doctor as well. I got to see the doctor, but I was relieved that the doctor went through most things with me, if that receptionist hadn't let me have that appointment, then god knows what I would have done. I have my partner, but from 3 weeks before Christmas until the 13 Jan, I would have been left to get on with my pregnancy without any medical advice what so ever.

So the question is, has anyone else be subjected to this kind of receptionist when they have found out that they are pregnant?

I'm probably overreacting, but I just found it all upsetting.

Bev

i have 2 boys and this is my 6th pregnancy and this was the first time my doc didn t confirm it. all the other times the doc did a test and confirmed it i waited 6 weeks after i foundout for my mw to contact me but they are always on the the other end of phone i you need anything