Maternity Allowance

Ashbee

Reaction score
I know there's been a few threads about maternity allowance, but iv got a few questions.
I was a fulltime nursing student - while working with an agency at a local hospital as a nursing assistant. I have worked way over the criteria to get the highest payment in the 66 week test period over the 13 weeks (some weeks coming away with £300). I have been employed by the NHS for 4 years, however in the 66 week test period i did not work 26 full weeks? When i phoned them they said as long as i had been employed for more than 66 weeks and have the 13 week test period i will be eligible. However, i know how easy it is for them to turn around and say no. If i dont get this maternity allowance i am absolutely screwed!

Has anyone ever been rejected? also how long did it take for them to get back to you?

Im not savvy with the weeks and dates etc but being nhs and the amount youve worked are you hoping to get smp from the nhs or maternity allowance from the government of up to 135 a week which anyone who cant get smp is entitled to x

As long as you can prove you were employed for 26 weeks out of 66 then you should be fine. They include holiday weeks etc in the calculations not just weeks you earned money I think. Do you have a contract or anthing to prove your employment just in case?

I'm still waiting to hear back about my MA and I sent my forms off 3rd August ish xx

I'm not intitled to SMP Lou as iv had 2 different contracts and the one I'm on now and using for maternity leave I haven't made enough money so I'm hoping for maternity allowance as I can include both contracts. Ahh hope it doesn't take too long to sort out! I got a print off from work telling me my start date and it was years ago so hopefully that's all I need xx

have you heard anything yet Kanga? x

Jeezo! I might give them a phone x

Yeah maybe I should too, still waiting. xx