I may be induced

MummyJess

Reaction score
Had my consultant appointment today - well, actually saw the registrar who was okay.

My background is that I have previously had 2 big babies, 9lb 5oz and 10lb. My youngest had complications during labour because although her head was born normally, her shoulders were actually broader and she got wedged for 20 min before the midwives managed to free her :shock: (had homebirth so limited options). Luckily, we were both fine but obviously I'm nervous about it happening again. Apparently if you've previously had a case of shoulder dystocia then you're more prone to it again :doh: . So we've opted for a hospital birth this time and my midwife recommended that I see the consultant to discuss the possiblity of early or due date induction.

The doctor today listened to my experience last time and agreed that I am higher risk than usual. She said they would see me again in a couple of weeks and they would see if I was 'favourable' to an induction. She said that they would definitely induce a lady with a big baby caused by a medical reason such as diabetes but not necessarily someone who doesn't need it medically i.e. me. That's because there can be more complications with an induced labour. She has said that they will do an internal at my next appointment and if my cervix is favourable, they will do the induction then. If I'm not already on my way then they will leave it longer. I think this is fair enough, as I don't want to push things along if me and the baby aren't ready.