I can't get Maternity pay from my employer GGggrrrr....

laetitia85

Reaction score
I'm so anrgy I can't get Statuory Maternity Pay from my employer :x that's because, although I have been working there for 3 years, I have always done part time work with them and don't earn enough to be entitled to SMP. So instead I have to claim through government and they will only pay me 90% of my earnings!! I'm not going to complain, it's still money but I'm just dissapointed that i've served at the same company (done all the crappy jobs :x ) for 3 years!!! and they can't even pay me what i'm due during my pregnancy!!!! it's not their fault, they just follow the law, but it's a bit disappointing!

well, as long as i get my maternity allowance from the government, even if it's a bit less...
:roll:

awww, i suppose 90% isn't too bad, although i bet its maddening for you!

I don't think I will get SMP either - although I've been working as a teacher for the past 5 years and in the same job for 4, since September I was working as a supply teacher so no contract :(

Looks like you're not alone on this one flower. I'm in the same boat too :roll:

Im not even entitled to Government Maternity allowance as im self employed and havent really earned much in the last 12 months as all money has gone back into the business. :(

I got my confirmation in this morning from my employer and I will get omp but have to see if I qualify for ma. It's so annoying. xxx

tuck said:
happy_chick said:
Im not even entitled to Government Maternity allowance as im self employed and havent really earned much in the last 12 months as all money has gone back into the business. :(

Have you looked into this cause you can get MA if you're self employed, dunno what the qualifying details are though

http://www.jobcentreplus.gov.uk/JCP/Cus ... 5.xml.html

Yeah you can get 90% of your earnings which is currently 0 lol

same for me