Maternity pay by employers!!!!!

newbump

Reaction score
Hi,

Just need to have a good rant really, i have been working for my company for almost 7 years and am currently a Company Director, as I am sure you are all aware entitlement on maternity pay is as follows:

90% of wages for the first 6 weeks then £106 per week for the next 20 weeks, during which time your employer can make up your wages or add to it.

Well I have just been informed today that they are going to pay me full wages for the first 8 weeks, then i can either come back to work full time or I will only get the £106 from the government! Bearing in mind my company are not employing anyone to take my place when i am off so extra money will be paid out.

Does anyone know if you can claim any other benefits on top of the £106 a week for living costs, or am I going to be better leaving work and signing on full time!!! ???

Any advice would be much appreicated, thanks all

Natalie x

I'm not sure hun as I'll be getting maternity allowance (not SMP) but maybe the jobcentre could help you? they exlained everything i could get.

I think if you sign on you don't receive any benefits during the time you get MA :(

Maternity allowance is a pittance. It should be 90% of wages for 26 weeks!

Government maternity allowance is as far as I know or there abouts anyway with my wages previously - just Statutory Maternity Pay seems to take the piss really!

Was going to try and look on the internet for information, thank you for your replys, I am just so annoyed that it seems having a baby is a punishment not the joy it is meant to be! I just dont know what to do, it has taken me years to get the caerer i wanted and now seems like i may have to give it up!

Hi Newbump