how early is too early?

l_maclean

Reaction score
to go back to work??? - this might take a bit of explaining

At the moment I work as a relief carer - but ive been trying to find office type work - basically so i dont need to work shifts, as DH can be away on oil rigs with work, or working long hours.

The admin in the care home i work in is 65 in dec, and looking at retirement, and my manager has spoken about me taking over from her - i do a fair bit of IT stuff at work, that doesnt really fall into the admin role.

However, Marja - the admin, is looking at putting her house on the market to move away in January, so it would be prob be a few months before she leaves - but even like April is WAY WAY sooner than i ever intended to return to work.

but its a 15 hour post, a great place to work, present hours are 9-2 mon, wed and fri - but this is prob flexible, and good benefits, so i dont feel like i can turn the job down cos its "the wrong time"

my boss knows my due date, so im assuming is expecting us to be able to work something out.

I have a meeting with the boss tomorrow, and im just wondering at what point it becomes realistic to go back to work. I've heard people doing it at 6weeks, but that seems crazy.

xxx

ps - sorry for war and peace.
xxx

I went back to work when the twins were 4 months for a similar reason. I used to commute nearly 70 miles per day to work. When I was in my first month may leave a job came up at the hospital 5 mins from my house and more money. I went for interviews and got it :yay: but I had to start in 8 weeks. The twins went to nursery full time and we've never looked back. Our quality of life is much better and we're all happy.
It's not a bad thing, think of the bigger picture xx

Sent from my gorgeous iPhone 4S