Holiday

Sammy J

Reaction score
Hello was wondering if you can help.

I was enquiring about my holiday entitlement in 2009, brief on me.

I am 12+4 (I think) I am due 23rd June 2009, normally I am entitled to 22 days plus bank holidays per year (Jan-Dec).

My friend said to me last night (who is currently on Maternity leave) that she was entitled to her whole years worth of maternity. I asked our accountant today what is my entitlement and she said its worked out by how many whole months I work next year?

So I am confused is my friend getting a really good deal? Or is my work tight?

Sam

If you have worked somewhere for more than a year than you are entitled to your full quota of holiday from the first day of the holiday year.

However, in your first year of employment, your emplyer is allowed to make you accrue your holiday on a monthly basis before you can take it.

So it depends how long you have been working there...

I have been working for the same dealership for 6 years, ever since I was 19 (now 25).

Where can I find this out for certain?

I don't want to kick up a stink and then me look like an idiot?

Sam

Bear with me - I'll find the official government link for you (my work tried to be funny so I printed it out for them!!)

Sorry for being thick, but am I getting this right then.

My holiday runs from 1st Jan to 31st Dec. I am entitled (currently) to 22 days a year.

I will be leaving at the end of May as our baby is due 23rd June.

So how much holiday can I take before I leave on 31st May, am I allowed to take the whole 22 days?

Only the accountant said she is sure that you work it out by divinding 22 by 12 months and multiplying it by how many months I will work that year (so in my case 5).

I'm confused.