• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Herbs and spices??

Jen3704

Reaction score
I have read a few times that herbs and spices should be avoided in early pregnancy. Surely its safe in tri2?? I make everything from scratch and when I was in the first tri, I ate loads of herbs and spices, oops! I didnt know! I still do, well, when I say loads, I season food with it, eg this kinda thing (not all in one dish lol) 1 tbsp of paprika, 1 tbsp cajun spice, 1 tsp of cinammon (sp?), 1 tbsp rosemary, 1tsp nutmeg etc etc.

Otherwise, food wouldnt taste of anything!! I am a keen cook and love the meals I cook and they are all really healthy, bit of a health addict, always have been haha.

Who else still cooks with herbs and spices??

I'm 21 weeks tomorrow and nothing is mentioned on NHS guidelines!! Do you all think that its another one of those 'foods to apparently avoid' and no real proof or evidence?? Just like the whole liquorice thing (liquorice root is 'supposed' to be avoided etc, hmm well I still eat it, anyway...)

We cant avoid everything surely!!!

I do understnd avoiding it in tri1, nothing is worth the risk etc! But surely tri2 onwards should be ok?? as long as you dont eat truck loads lol???

I'm hoping you girlies say you all still have hebs and spices, cos I dont know what i'll eat otherwise haha!!

Thanks girlies :)

I had no idea about this!! I have cooked with herbs and spices all the way through. I am 15 weeks this weekend. At my booking appointment my midwife gave me a list of things to avoid and didn't mention any of this... I think I will carry on using them. xx

Is only a few herbs that aren't safe during pregnancy

Basil
Sage
Rosemary
Cloves
Cassia
Oregano